Saturday, January 30, 2010

Another download link - By request

ThinLizzyFanpage requested that I post the soundcheck from the 3/12/1983 Hammersmith Odeon gig. I initially said it would take a few days, but I found it on my hard drive and just decided to do it now, while I answered some idiotic comments on a few of my YouTube posts regarding California Jam, Nuremberg 1983, and Sabbath's performance of Smoke on the Water.

I got this from a friend of mine as .mp3 files. I don't know the exact bitrate but the files sound ok. I know people have this in lossless, so if you see this and have it in lossless, it would be appreciated if it could be posted someplace like DIME/DaD or at the Traders Den in that format. That way I could junk this link, and post something in better quality.

This includes 4 versions of Black Rose, 2 of Still In Love With You, Whiskey, The Rocker, Are You Ready, and a couple of jams. It used to have two more tracks but something happened to the CD I had this stored on awhile back and it damaged two tracks so they they were unplayable. This should really be 14 tracks but instead you're only getting 12. Another good reason someone should take the time and post this.

What is here is really good though. It's neat to hear some of the riffs played on their own.


EDIT: Link removed. Someone met my request and reuploaded lossless version of the afforementioned tracks. I'll try to get a new link put here soon.

Saturday, January 23, 2010

My extremely belated Christmas present.

Here's a breakdown of what the above link contains:

01 Waiting For an Alibi (Alternate Demo)
02 Dear Miss Lonely Hearts (Demo)
03 Samantha
04 What's the Matter Baby (Version 1)
05 Breakdown (Longer Version)
06 Ode to A Black Man (Demo)
07 Jamaican Rum (Demo)
08 What's the Matter Baby (Version 2)
09 Time (and Again) (Version 2)
10 He Fell Like A Soldier (Version 2)
11 Lady Loves to Dance (Demo)
12 Someone's Out To Get Ya
13 Catholic Charm
14 I Still Think of You
15 No More
16 Revolution
17 Why Don't You Call Me
18 Partner In Crime ('Acoustic Mix')
19 Lady Loves to Dance (12' version)
20 Dirty Old Town
21 Guiding Light
22 Fats (Demo)
23 Tattoo (Demo)
24 Spanish Guitar (Demo)
25 With Love (Alternate Demo)
26 Try A Little Harder (Demo)
27 Hot N' Spicy
28 Hard Times ('Dance Mix')
29 Harlem (Alternate Version)
30 Lady Loves to Dance (Mastered version)
31 Baby's Been Messin' (Snippet)
32 Bad Is Bad (Short low quality snippet)
33 Bad Is Bad (Longer Better quality snippet)
34 Talk in 79 (Snippet)
35 We Will Be Strong (Demo - Snippet)
36 Chinatown (Demo - Snippet)
37 Don't Play Around (Demo - Snippet)
38 Didn't I (Demo - Snippet)
39 Having A Good Time (Demo - Snippet)
40 Have You Heard Lately (Snippet)
41 Kill (Snippet)
42 Revolution (Robin George Version - Snippet)
43 The Story of My Life (Snippet)

All are in 256 kbps mp3 format. Too bad we probably won't get any better quality than this, but it's still nice regardless.

Friday, January 15, 2010

nothinbutblue's YouTube Channel

Hi everyone!

I just wanted to put in my two cents on a situation involving a YouTube aquaintance of mine who goes by the user name "nothinbutblue".

If you're a big Lizzy/Lynott fan, and if you already have been reading my blog, you probably have some recollection of who he is. This user shared a few dozen EXTREMELY RARE Lizzy and Lynott tracks the last few months, including nearly all of the 1984/85 demos known to exist. Some were only snippets, (and I understand why that is) but even still, his efforts to make these tracks available to be heard by the public is very commendable. It's sad to think that some people (assholes) refuse to share these tracks because either:

A) These assholes are making money from them...or

B) These assholes are holding out (in vain) to get complete versions of certain other tracks from other equally idiotic assholes that 99.999% of all Lizzy collectors don't have yet. (Do you get why some of those were only snippets now?)

Of course, after about a month or so, a few certain people caught wind of what 'nothinbutblue' had done and decided to use the same tactics that once been used on me and successfully got him to remove all the tracks from YouTube.

I need to make a few points about this.

First off, I had spoken to 'nothinbutblue' before he posted anything on his channel. I'm not going to divulge what exactly was said as it's not right for me to just publish the contents of that message (although I have no problem doing so on my end), but I will say that he praised what I had done in posting other rare tracks and said that it was 'the right thing to do'. I feel the public needs to know this, and that 'nothinbutblue' isn't just jerking people around because he can. He just understands (as do I) the other factors you have to deal with when you post rare stuff on the internet. He took the tracks off YouTube because he felt it was the right thing for him to do. Understandable. I felt the right thing to do was to leave them up and weather the storm, risk alienation from 'the big boys' and become a pariah among other collectors of this material. Fine.

'nothinbutblue' did upload a new track late last night, and when asked about the other tracks, suggested that he would post material that would cause "less consternation". What?!

Basically, I understand the decision, but I don't agree with this mentality.

First, if it's the right thing to do (his words), then why is it okay to quit when a few people give you crap?

Also, with regards to these people who are causing consternation, do they really think people didn't make copies of the tracks from YouTube? I mean it's too late once they are up there. I can make a copy of any track I want from YouTube in the time it takes for the song to play through. It's not rocket science. It's called "audacity".

What happens if I were to take these tracks and post them on my YouTube channel? Are these people going to come after me? If they do, they aren't going to win. I won't give two shits about "their consternation". The only reason I haven't is that it puts "nothinbutblue" in a bad position.

Then again, he should of known this was coming. I'm sure he knew what I went through, and I warned him it would happen. Since I knew this, I took the liberty of copying every track he uploaded. I know others that did too. It's common sense if you're a big fan really; it's a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. My only problem is that it would of been better to post them as lossless someplace else to maintain highest possible quality. People are going to get them either way, so they might as well let certain people preserve them that way. Now all we have are high-quality lossy copies, and given this "consternation", I don't expect any to be reposted in better quality anytime soon.

Lastly, I wish some of these people who are upset about 'nothinbutblue''s work would crawl out of the shadows and identify themselves, rather than being the cowardly bitches that they are. Then again, if it's the same people who came after me, then it's no surprise.